schuberts echo.jpg

Schubert's Echo

American String Quartet

© Copyright - Of Album is NSS MUSIC / NSS MUSIC (853376001092)

Genre: Classical: Chamber Music

Release Date: 2010

“Schubert’s Echo” features three works never before recorded together: Schubert’s monumental Quartet in G, D.887, Berg’s dramatic, atonal Quartet Op. 3 and Webern’s visionary Fünf Sätze, Op. 5 (Five Movements, Op. 5). Schubert’s influence can be heard throughout the entire recording. These works, passionately performed by the American String Quartet (Peter Winograd, violin; Laurie Carney, violin; Daniel Avshalomov, viola; Wolfram Koessel, cello) reveal, in the context of each other, the continuum that is the quartet repertoire. The quartet’s sophisticated, masterful performances invite you to hear these incredible works anew. Listening to this innovative recording, we’re sure that you too, will hear the echoes.

SCHUBERT Quartet in G, D.887

  1. Allegro molto moderato

  2. Andante un poco moto

  3. Scherzo: Allegro vivace

  4. Allegro assai

BERG Quartet Op. 3

  1. Langsam

  2. Massige Viertel

WEBERN Fünf Sätze, Op. 5 (Five Movements, Op. 5)

  1. Heftig Bewegt

  2. Sehr Langsam

  3. Sehr Lebhaft

  4. Sehr Langsam

  5. In Zarter Bewegung


Click here to hear sound clips or purchase.